Our

HISTORY

The history of

The Fayet House

“Fayet Rousseau” company was founded in 1909. Set up first in Thiers ( Chateldon street and United states avenue ), it is specialised in handles and sticks for umbrellas, sunshades and walking sticks, turned or sculpted, with horn or galalit. SOL – GUERIN bought out in 1927, added to its production the curving of the stick. During about ten years, the two factories worked at the same time, the headquarters were in Thiers.

Georges Fayet
Georges Fayet
Rue de Chateldon – Thiers
Factory- Chateldon street -Thiers
Poignées courbe pour parapluie
Crook handles for umbrellas
Mignot-Pont-De-Dore
Factory at Mignot, Pont-De-Dore

At Mignot, Fayet-Rousseau knows the manufacture of the walking stick, from the wood ball to the final product. The supply in raw materials is done through merchants and wholesalers, the House CHARLES ( in Havre ) for exotic woods and merchants of Allier area for charm and beech wood.

The wood is stored , is put to dry and cut up by sawyers ( band and circular saw ). One of the speciality is the model called "injected", technique inherited from the SOL GUERIN. The injection is done twice a year. Square filed wood ( mainly charm ) are impregnated of aniline stain under pressure in a kind of big cooker. ( dimension : height 120 cm, diameter 40 cm ) in order to starken and protect the "heart" of the wood. This type of model is preferably sold in United Kingdom, North America and Holland.

Each worker has a speciality. The hiring register details job of each one : sawyer, rasper, curver, sander, varnisher, hider, hewer, molder, engraver… We have noticed a great average of female staff that constantly represent a third of the whole staff.

In 1936-37, the two associates Fayet and Rousseau get apart. Rousseau keeps Thiers and becomes the manager of "wood plastic horn"; Fayet stays in Mignot. Fayet became “Fayet-Boyer”, it is a family association.

Louis et Roger Fayet
Louis et Roger Fayet
usine sol guerin
Mignot

The pre-war period knocked the death knell for the stick inadapted to the rythm of modern life. The main production henceforth concentrated on handle of curved wood umbrella, related with some manufacturer of Aurillac city which is the main customer of the company (same catalogue with Déjoux and Fénies companies) without forgetting the stick as it still delivers for Manufrance around 4 to 500 sticks a year.

The period of prosperity is indisputably during the fifties. Between 1950-1956, 43 people are hired. The company leaves Mignot to set up in Pont de Dore (site of the factory Pinay Fortias). It is the end of the site Mignot.

From 1964, the umbrella (and notably the one of Aurillac) is in crisis, the name of the company is “Ets Fayet Roger”, directed by himself, exclusively reorients its production of sticks. The manufacturer crosses France to sell his models of stick and throughout his trips, he acquires antique, unusual, precious sticks, different to each other. Now, they are a real a source of inspiration for his son.

personnel de Mignot
Workers of Fayet company
Roger Fayet et la fabrique rue de Pezzaze – Pont-De-Dore
Roger Fayet and the factory

Jean-Luc, the grandson of Georges Fayet the founder, took the continuation in 1986, the name of the company is “Fayet Roger & son”. In 1988, the company became “SARL Fayet Cane Manufacture”.

Today, the company is situated “zone artisanale de bournat” at Orléat. Thirteen people work at the company which name is “Cannes Fayet” since 1st January 2015. Amandine, 4th generation took the continuation with her husband Cédric Dauduit.

à propos entreprise
Factory ZA de Bournat - Orléat
en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Notre

Histoire

L’histoire de

La Maison Fayet®

C’est en 1909 qu’est fondée l’entreprise Fayet-Rousseau. Installée d’abord à Thiers (rue Chateldon et avenue des Etats-unis), elle est spécialisée dans les poignées et manches pour parapluies, ombrelles et cannes à main « , tournées ou sculptées, en corne ou en galalithe. Le rachat de sol-Guérin en 1927, ajoute à sa production le courbage de la canne. Pendant près d’une dizaine d’années, les deux usines fonctionnent simultanément, le siège social restant à Thiers.

Georges Fayet
Georges Fayet
Rue de Chateldon – Thiers
Rue de Chateldon – Thiers
Poignées courbe pour parapluie
Poignées courbe pour parapluie
Mignot-Pont-De-Dore
Mignot-Pont-De-Dore

A Mignot, Fayet-Rousseau maîtrise la fabrication de la canne, de la bille de bois au produit final. L’approvisionnement en matière première se fait par l’intermédiaire de marchands et de grossistes, la maison Charles (au havre) pour les bois exotiques et les marchands de l’Allier pour le charme et le hêtre.

Le bois est stocké, mis à sécher et débité par les scieurs (scie à ruban et scie circulaire). L’une des spécialités est le modèle dit  » injecté « , technique héritée de la maison Sol-Guérin. L’injection a lieu deux fois par an. Les carrelets de bois (charme essentiellement) sont imprégnés de teinture d’aniline sous pression dans une sorte de grosse cocotte (dimension : h :120 cm, d : 40 cm). Ce qui a pour effet de durcir et de protéger le bois  » à cœur « . Ce type de modèles se vend de préférence en Grande-Bretagne, en Amérique du Nord et en Hollande.

Chaque ouvrier a sa spécialité. Le registre d’embauche nous livre le métier de chacun et chacune : scieur, râpeur, courbeur, ponceur, vernisseur, cacheur, façonneur, toupilleur, graveur… On note une forte proportion de personnel féminin qui, de manière constante, représente 1/3 du personnel.

En 1936-1937, les deux associés Fayet et Rousseau se séparent. Rousseau garde Thiers et devient directeur de  » Bois plasticorne « , Fayet reste à Mignot. L’entreprise devient Fayet-Boyer, c’est une association familiale.

Louis et Roger Fayet
Louis et Roger Fayet
usine sol guerin
Mignot

Les années d’Avant-Guerre sonnent le glas de la canne inadaptée au rythme de la vie moderne. L’essentiel de la production se recentre désormais sur la poignée de parapluie en bois courbé, en relation avec certains fabricants d’Aurillac qui sont les principaux clients de l’entreprise (catalogue commun avec la Maison Déjoux et Fénies). Sans pour autant oublier la canne puisqu’elle livre encore pour Manufrance près de 4 à 500 cannes par an.

La période de prospérité se situe incontestablement dans les années cinquante. Entre 1950-1956, quarante-trois personnes sont embauchées. L’entreprise quitte alors Mignot pour s’intaller à Pont-de-Dore (emplacement de l’usine Pinay Fortias). C’est la fin du site de Mignot

A partir de 1964, le parapluie (et notamment celui d’Aurillac) connaissant une crise, l’entreprise devient « Ets Fayet Roger »  dirigée par lui-même, réoriente sa production sur la canne exclusivement. Le fabricant sillonne la France pour vendre ses modèles et au fil de ses voyages, acquiert des cannes anciennes, insolites, précieuses, mais toutes différentes. Elles sont aujourd’hui source d’inspiration pour son fils.

personnel de Mignot
Les travailleurs de l’usine
Roger Fayet et la fabrique rue de Pezzaze – Pont-De-Dore
Roger Fayet et la fabrique rue de Pezzaze – Pont-De-Dore

Le petit-fils de Georges Fayet le fondateur, reprend le flambeau en 1986, l’entreprise « Fayet Roger fils » est situé à Pont-de-dore (rue de Pezzaze), elle devient « SARL Fabrique de cannes Fayet » en 1988.

Aujourd’hui, l’entreprise est située zone artisanale de Bournat à Orléat. Elle occupe à ce jour 8 personnes et se nomme « SARL Cannes Fayet se » depuis le 1er Janvier 2015. Amandine Fayet, 4eme génération a pris la suite de l’entreprise avec son mari Cédric Dauduit.

à propos entreprise
La fabrique zone artisanale de Bournat – Orléat