Our

KNOW-HOW

Explanation of

the job of walking sticks maker

Présentation du métier de cannier-monteur

To briefly summarize the profession of walking sticks maker, it consists to transform a wooden tile into a utensil helping the man in these movements or in his clothing ornament.

To practice this profession it is necessary to have knowledge in diversification of spheres such as the use of wood lathes and other materials intended for the cabinetmaker. It is also necessary to be able to use the mechanical lathe and the equipment used by the detacher. It is also suitable for roughing, sanding and refining a knob or handle such as a sculptor.

The transformation of materials very different from each other requires the concentration of our senses. The touch and the view are very important in the creation especially during the straightening of the barrels and the differentiation of the exotic woods. It is the hearing that tells us during the curving of the wood if the fibers are ready to be exploited. The smell becomes useful for the recognition of certain materials and, also, during sanding should not heat and will not have the same scent according to their temperature levels.

Only the taste to date is not awakened during manufacturing.


Several steps are necessary in the elaboration of a cane and are very different depending on the materials used and the desired final choice.

This is why it is difficult to explain every detail of it because there are so many possibilities. From a simple wooden tile, after manipulation, addition of elements and adjustment, it can become a rod to system, ceremonial, dandy or other.

An Artisanal

Manufacture

While today the Maison Fayet® offers resolutely modern and contemporary canes, the manufacturing techniques have not changed much.

Thus, the Fayet walking sticks are made in the factory workshops according to ancestral know-how passed down from generation to generation.

As proof, The workshop where the bending of the wood was taking place was always equipped with pulleys and belts as were most of the workshops in the area and many of the machines are original (case of the varnish drying device) or come from workshops of former manufacturers.

Our company is listed in the inventory of Rare Art Crafts, within the framework of the Unesco Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage.

Manufacturing

a long and artisanal process

Several steps are necessary in the elaboration of a cane and are very different depending on the materials used and the desired final choice. This is why it is difficult to explain every detail of it because there are so many possibilities. Starting from a simple wooden tile, after handling, adds
elements and adjustment, it is possible to create a simple cane, cane to system, ceremonial or other. On average, 4 to 6 hours of manual work are required to make a bent cane.

Wood selection and drying

After recovering the wood in the form of logs, the very first step is to have cutting wood into boards from local sawmills, then into tiles. The tiles then leave for a long drying period in a ventilated room that differs according to species: a minimum year for ordinary wood up to 6 years for exotic wood.


The drying step is essential and must be carried out perfectly before Fayet’s Canes are manufactured.

Savoir-faire selection du bois sechage
Bending of exotic wooden canes

Once the tiles are well dry, they are selected (obligation of total absence of knots) then heated, this in order to soften them a little.

Then comes the crucial step of curving which requires the presence of 2 people and requires precise know-how: the external face of the tile is fixed on a spring (long steel blade with rod). The spring and the wood maintained come to be wrapped around a roller previously heated and fixed on the axis of a steering wheel machine that drives 2 people per thrust. Once, the end of the tile well curved, it will be held on the spring for another 3 hours. After demoulding, it is dried several days on large hot water pipes.

Savoir-faire courbage des cannes
The work of the tile

The barrel (stick) is then passed in a «bezel» kind of big pencil sharpener, which will give it its cylindrical shape. The inside and outside of the curve are trimmed using a circular grater mounted on a turret (a special grater specific to Maison Fayet®). The barrel is then ploughed to its conical shape and then completely sanded, just like the curve.

Savoir-faire travail du carrelet
Flambage and varnishing of white woods

The cane is then burned with a torch to give it a nuanced shade. It is then straightened on an easel to guarantee a straight shaft before being varnished: 25 rods are immersed in a tray of cellulosic varnish for 30 minutes and then gradually rise up so that the varnish spreads evenly. Finally, the cane will then be put on a rotating machine to dry the varnish.

Savoir-faire flambage et vernissage
en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Notre

Savoir Faire

Présentation du

métier de cannier-monteur

Présentation du métier de cannier-monteur

Pour résumer succinctement le métier de cannier-monteur, il consiste à transformer un carrelet de bois en un ustensile aidant l’homme dans ces déplacements ou dans son ornement vestimentaire.

Pour exercer ce métier il est nécessaire d’avoir des connaissances dans plusieurs domaines tels que l’utilisation de tours à bois et autres matériels destinés à l’ébéniste. Il faut également pouvoir se servir de tour mécanique et du matériel qu’utilise le décolleteur. Il convient aussi de dégrossir, poncer et affiner un pommeau ou une poignée tel un sculpteur.

La transformation des matériaux très différents les uns des autres nécessite la concentration de nos sens. Le toucher et la vue sont très importants dans la création notamment lors du dressage des fûts et de la différenciation des bois exotiques. C’est l’ouïe qui nous indique lors du courbage du bois si les fibres sont prêtes à être exploitées. L’odorat devient utile pour la reconnaissance de certains matériaux et, qui également, lors du ponçage ne doivent pas chauffer et n’auront pas les mêmes effluves selon leur degrés de température.

Seul le goût à ce jour n’est pas en éveil lors de la fabrication.

Plusieurs étapes sont nécessaires dans l’élaboration d’une canne et sont très différentes selon les matériaux utilisés et le choix final désiré.

C’est pourquoi il est difficile d’en expliquer chaque détail tant les possibilités sont multiples. A partir d’un simple carrelet de bois, après manipulation, rajout d’éléments et ajustement, il peut devenir canne à système, d’apparat, de dandy ou autre.

Artisanale

Une Fabrication

Si aujourd’hui la Maison Fayet® propose des cannes résolument modernes et dans l’air du temps, les techniques de fabrication, elles, ont peu évolué.

Ainsi, les cannes Fayet sont fabriquées dans les ateliers de la manufacture selon un savoir-faire ancestral transmis de génération en génération.

Pour preuve, L’atelier où se déroulait le courbage des bois était toujours équipé de poulies et de courroies comme l’étaient la plupart des ateliers de la région et nombre de machines sont d’origine (cas du dispositif de séchage du vernis) ou proviennent d’ateliers d’anciens fabricants.

Notre entreprise est inscrite à l’inventaire des métiers d’Art Rares, dans le cadre de la convention de l’Unesco pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel.

La sélection du bois et séchage

Après avoir récupéré le bois sous forme de grume, la toute première étape consiste à faire débiter le bois en planches auprès de scieries locales, puis en carrelets. Les carrelets partent alors pour une longue période de séchage dans une pièce ventilée qui diffère selon les essences : une année minimum pour les bois ordinaires jusqu’à 6 ans pour les bois exotiques.

L’étape du séchage est primordiale et doit être parfaitement réalisée avant de procéder à la fabrication des Cannes Fayet®.

Savoir-faire selection du bois sechage
Le courbage des cannes en bois exotique

Une fois les carrelets bien secs, ils sont sélectionnés (obligation d’absence totale de nœuds) puis chauffés, ceci afin de les assouplir un peu.

Ensuite vient l’étape cruciale du courbage qui nécessite la présence de 2 personnes et demande un savoir-faire précis : la face externe du carrelet est fixée sur un ressort (longue lame d’acier à tige). Le ressort et le bois maintenus viennent s’enrouler autour d’un galet préalablement chauffé et fixé sur l’axe d’une machine à volant qu’entrainent 2 personnes par poussée. Une fois, l’extrémité du carrelet bien courbé, il sera maintenu sur le ressort encore 3 heures. Après démoulage, il est mis à sécher plusieurs jours sur de gros tuyaux d’eau chaude.

Savoir-faire courbage des cannes
Le travail du carrelet

Le fût (bâton) est ensuite passé dans une « lunette » sorte de gros taille crayon, qui lui donnera sa forme cylindrique. L’intérieur et l’extérieur de la courbe sont dégrossis à l’aide d’une râpe circulaire montée sur un touret (râpe spéciale spécifique à la Maison Fayet®). Le fût est ensuite passé au rabot pour lui apporter sa forme conique puis entièrement poncé tout comme la courbe.

Savoir-faire travail du carrelet
Le flambage et le vernissage des bois blancs

La canne est alors brulée à l’aide d’un chalumeau pour lui donner une teinte nuancée. Elle est ensuite redressée sur un chevalet pour garantir un fût bien droit avant d’être vernie : 25 cannes sont plongées dans un bac de vernis cellulosique pendant 30 minutes puis remontent progressivement afin que le vernis s’étale uniformément. Enfin, la canne sera mise ensuite sur une machine en rotation pour sécher le vernis.

Savoir-faire flambage et vernissage